New California Driving Laws Drivers Need To Be Aware Of


Distracted Driving with Earbuds


While most of us were ringing in the new year, our state Senate was ringing in new driving laws in California that have the potential to impact nearly every driver in the state. Most of the new California driving laws for 2016 went into effect on January first, and they cover everything from alert systems for hit and run accidents to laws affecting Ubers and other transportation companies. In terms of increasing driver safety and decreasing automobile accidents and injuries, it is too early to tell what impact the new laws will have. Regardless of their effects,  these new laws are something that all California drivers will need to be aware of.

New Laws To Be Aware Of When Driving In California

According to a news release from the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), the following are new California driving laws for 2016 that all motorists should be aware of:

  • Law Against Earbuds or Headsets: Under Senate Bill 491, this law makes it illegal to wear a headset or earbuds when operating a bicycle or motor vehicle.
  • Ignition Interlock Devices: Under SB 61, drivers convicted of driving under the influence will be required to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed on their vehicles for a period of five months after a first DUI offense, for 12 months after a second DUI, 24 months for a third offense, and for 36 months for a fourth or subsequent DUI offense.
  • Traffic Amnesty: Under SB 405, This law amends the existing laws regarding the CA Traffic Ticket Amnesty Program, a program designed to help California drivers regain their driver’s licenses. The originally law targeted drivers with infractions that were originally due for payment on or before January 1, 2013. The recently passed law amends the Traffic Amnesty Program to include drivers who have not made payments after September 2015 for bail or fines already due. This program does not apply to parking tickets, tickets for reckless driving, or DUI offenses.
  • Transportation Network Companies: Under Assembly Bill 1422, transportation companies such as Uber or Lyft will now be required to submit driver records to the DMV, and are now required to disclose any moving violations, accidents, or license suspensions that occur.

In addition to the above, a new safety program could help to identify hit and run drivers. According to KTLA 5 News, this new legislation was announced by the California Highway Patrol, and similar to an Amber Alert, would use yellow safety alerts to provide information on hit and run accidents involving injuries. This new program, as well as the new driving laws in Cameron Park, will hopefully help make California’s roads safer for all drivers.

Contact Us Today for Help

If you or someone you love is injured in an automobile accident, contact the Cunningham law Group today. Successfully serving auto accident victims since 1972, we provide the aggressive legal representation you need and can advise you on how to get the compensation you deserve. We serve Cameron Park and the surrounding areas; call or contact us online today for a free consultation.